SECURTEK SECURITY · THREAT INTELLIGENCE

News & Threat Intelligence

Live snapshot · October 2026

Curated security and technology news, drawn from our daily briefings. Substance only: confirmed incidents with real-world impact, no hype. Every item links its sources.

Cybersecurity

Archive

Grouped by criticality. Critical: active exploitation, CISA KEV listings, systemic impact. Significant: major confirmed incidents and operations. Standard: all other verified reporting.

SIGNIFICANT

AI

Archive

Grouped by criticality. Critical: government action, safety incidents, market-moving events. Significant: major releases, standards, and research. Standard: all other verified reporting.

SIGNIFICANT

Breaches

Archive
8
breaches tracked
17.03M
records exposed
5
countries
8
added in the last 7 days
US StateAll
50 states currently show 0 breaches
Alabama · 0 Alaska · 0 Arizona · 0 Arkansas · 0 California · 0 Colorado · 0 Connecticut · 0 Delaware · 0 Florida · 0 Georgia · 0 Hawaii · 0 Idaho · 0 Illinois · 0 Indiana · 0 Iowa · 0 Kansas · 0 Kentucky · 0 Louisiana · 0 Maine · 0 Maryland · 0 Massachusetts · 0 Michigan · 0 Minnesota · 0 Mississippi · 0 Missouri · 0 Montana · 0 Nebraska · 0 Nevada · 0 New Hampshire · 0 New Jersey · 0 New Mexico · 0 New York · 0 North Carolina · 0 North Dakota · 0 Ohio · 0 Oklahoma · 0 Oregon · 0 Pennsylvania · 0 Rhode Island · 0 South Carolina · 0 South Dakota · 0 Tennessee · 0 Texas · 0 Utah · 0 Vermont · 0 Virginia · 0 Washington · 0 West Virginia · 0 Wisconsin · 0 Wyoming · 0

Breaches by industry

Healthcare
1 breach
View breach details
October 24, 2026 · Singapore · Records: about 110,000
Registry context: 397 healthcare breaches affecting 500 or more individuals were reported to the HHS Office for Civil Rights in the first half of 2026, covering 33.77 million individuals (source: The HIPAA Journal / HHS OCR breach portal).
Registry this week: no new breaches were posted to the HHS OCR breach portal between October 22 and October 28, 2026. The portal's most recent posting is dated October 7, 2026 (source: HHS OCR breach portal).
Finance
2 breaches
View breach details
October 28, 2026 · South Korea · Records: 38,490 (Daishin Securities only; other firms not counted)
October 26, 2026 · South Korea · Records: count not yet published (under investigation; not counted in the records exposed total)
Academics
1 breach
View breach details
October 23, 2026 · Denmark · Records: about 525,000
Government
0 breaches
View breach details
Retail
1 breach
View breach details
October 23, 2026 · Canada · Records: about 2,000,000
Alert SECURTEK ALERT
STATEWIDE SCOPE · COUNT UNCONFIRMED
Government Breach Spotlight · Deep Dive
FLHSMV learned on September 4, 2026 that an international cybercriminal organization had accessed DAVID, its driver and vehicle lookup database (22 million driver records), through a Plant City Police Department employee's credentials improperly stored on a personal device. The department says access was contained and credentials reset; FDLE and the Florida Digital Service are investigating. Potentially affected: driver license and motor vehicle data, including document images. No misuse has been found so far; no confirmed count and no exposure window have been published.
ShinyHunters listed the department on its leak site on September 7, claiming more than 200,000 records. Its proof, a screenshot of Jeffrey Epstein's DAVID record, is unverified; the department has confirmed none of the group's counts, methods, or data, so all group figures are attacker claims. The state did not pay by the September 11 deadline. On September 16 the group published hundreds of thousands of files (500,000 claimed in total), which TechCrunch reviewed. On October 16, lacking current addresses for some impacted people, the department issued a public substitute notice; letters to current holders follow the week of October 19 (one year of Sontiq monitoring, $1 million identity theft insurance).
Lessons learned: (1) Privileged credentials never live on personal devices; enforce and verify the rule. The vector was a stored credential, not a software flaw. (2) Shared query systems need privileged access management: least privilege, per-user accountability, session controls, anomaly detection on unusual lookups. (3) Assume publication; notification readiness is what shortens a six week gap.
Why it matters to Florida residents, and what to do: DAVID records are not opt-in accounts; every licensed driver and titled vehicle owner must have one, former holders included. License and vehicle data with document images enables identity theft, fraudulent titles, and synthetic identities, and the data is already published. Watch this week's mail; enroll when the letter arrives. Place a free credit freeze with Equifax (1-800-525-6285), Experian (1-888-397-3742), and TransUnion (1-800-680-7289); pull free reports at AnnualCreditReport.com. The department notifies by mail, so distrust emailed or texted enrollment links. Former holders who receive no letter should email CustomerInquiry@flhsmv.gov.
What FLHSMV should do now: Publish the itemized data elements and a confirmed count, undisclosed six weeks on; finish notifying former holders rather than relying on substitute notice; audit DAVID query logs for the full exposure window and publish it; enforce the personal device credential ban across every agency with DAVID access, with sanctions; add anomaly detection and step-up authentication; state whether the claimed password reset flaw was investigated and closed.
Where SecurTek fits: A privileged access failure, not a perimeter failure. SecurTek's advisory work covers privileged access management for shared query systems, credential governance across partner agencies, and notification readiness; Professor Fehr's doctoral research covers the same control family for privileged actors and AI agents. The human failures are trainable, and SecurePath Academy's security awareness and compliance training drills them. (Sources: FLHSMV · Tallahassee Democrat · TechCrunch and BleepingComputer reporting.)
Alert SECURTEK ALERT
1.4M PEOPLE AFFECTED
Healthcare Breach Spotlight · Deep Dive
Central Ohio Primary Care (COPC), one of the largest physician-owned primary care groups in the United States, serving more than 500,000 patients across Ohio, is not yet listed on the HHS Office for Civil Rights breach portal. This deep dive rests on COPC’s October 15, 2026 statement and the reporting cited below, and it will be updated when the registry listing appears.
COPC discovered the incident on August 25, 2026: a vishing attack, voice phishing carried out for extortion, in which a criminal threat actor gained unauthorized access to files containing protected health information. The practice publicly acknowledged the breach on October 15, about six weeks later. Its investigation found that around 1.4 million current and former patients and employees were affected. The information potentially exposed includes names, addresses, Social Security numbers, patient ID numbers, financial information, and limited health-related data. COPC says its MyChart patient portal was not impacted, that it has seen no misuse of the information for identity theft or fraud, and that affected individuals are being notified in writing and offered complimentary credit and dark web monitoring. The Chaos ransomware group has reportedly claimed responsibility for the attack; that claim, reported by law firms citing dark-web monitoring, has not been confirmed by COPC or by authorities.
Lessons learned: (1) Voice is an attack surface. This intrusion began with a phone call, not malware. Verification discipline, refusing to act on a voice request alone and calling back on a known number, is a control, and it can be drilled. (2) The clock is part of the incident. Six weeks passed between discovery and public acknowledgment; notification readiness, with counsel, call centers, and monitoring arrangements in place before they are needed, is what compresses that gap. (3) Extortion changes the playbook. The attacker wanted money, not just records; segmented access to files containing protected health information limits what one compromised identity can reach. That is the gap SecurePath Academy’s HIPAA and security awareness training and SecurTek’s advisory work exist to close: vishing verification and incident readiness are trainable, testable, and auditable before they become a breach headline. (Sources: The Columbus Dispatch · COPC incident response site.)

Breaches by country

JP
Japan
3 breaches
View breach details
October 27, 2026 · Technology · Records: 2,585,481
October 26, 2026 · Travel · Records: up to 2.6 million potentially affected (company stated maximum total; not counted in the records exposed total)
October 22, 2026 · Gaming · Records: 11,774,247
SG
Singapore
1 breach
View breach details
October 24, 2026 · Singapore · Records: about 110,000
KR
South Korea
2 breaches
View breach details
October 28, 2026 · Finance · Records: 38,490 (Daishin Securities only; Bithumb count not disclosed and Mirae Asset Global Investments investor information not affected, not counted)
October 26, 2026 · Finance · Records: count not yet published (under investigation; not counted in the records exposed total)
CA
Canada
1 breach
View breach details
October 23, 2026 · Retail · Records: about 2,000,000
DK
Denmark
1 breach
View breach details
October 23, 2026 · Academics · Records: about 525,000

US breach map

Map of the United States; no state is shaded, because no US state currently has a tracked breach

States with tracked breaches are shaded red, and the shading deepens as the count rises. Click a shaded state to open its breach. All states currently show 0.

Illustrative scale (not data): 1 5 10
Breaches by state

Latest breaches

October 28, 2026 · South Korea · Finance
Records: 38,490 (Daishin Securities only; Bithumb count not disclosed, not counted)
October 27, 2026 · Japan · Technology
Records: 2,585,481
October 26, 2026 · South Korea · Finance
Records: count not yet published (under investigation; not counted in the records exposed total)
October 26, 2026 · Japan · Travel
Records: up to 2.6 million potentially affected (company stated maximum total; not counted in the records exposed total)
October 24, 2026 · Singapore · Healthcare
Records: about 110,000
October 23, 2026 · Denmark · Academics
Records: about 525,000
October 23, 2026 · Canada · Retail
Records: about 2,000,000
October 22, 2026 · Japan · Gaming
Records: 11,774,247

Breach Statistics

Significant confirmed breaches tracked in 2026, by industry. The week column reflects current stories; month and year accumulate from our verified 2026 breach history.

INDUSTRYTHIS WEEKOCTOBER2026
Healthcare1310
Finance2411
Academics138
Government0310
Retail11014

2026 breach count by industry

Healthcare
 
10
Finance
 
11
Academics
 
8
Government
 
10
Retail
 
14

Busiest months: September (10) and March (8). Attacker-claimed counts not independently verified are excluded from records totals.

The figures above are the incidents tracked on this page. The full registry universe is larger; see the Healthcare registry context in the industry panels. Primary registries: HHS OCR breach portal · The HIPAA Journal.

Monitoring by SecurTek AI Force.